2021-22 Junior & Senior U.S. Men’s National Indoor Teams Named

by USA Field Hockey

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Following an in-person tryout on November 13 and virtual/online submissions due to travel restrictions, the 2021-22 Junior and Senior U.S. Men’s National Indoor Teams have been named.


"I'm happy to announce the Junior Indoor Squad for the 2021-2022 season,” said Jason Mulder, Senior Indoor USMNT Head Coach. “We understand that our success internationally hinges on the development of our juniors and it's exciting to see the pool of raw talent we have to work with this season as we look to develop the next generation. We have a full program prepared for the juniors that will be co-coordinated by Eric Enters and Dr. Kathy Schiller, both who share an unrivaled passion to develop the next generation."


Ian Ailes (Havertown, Pa.), Matthew Barraco (Allentown, Pa.), Alex Beauduin (Princeton, N.J.), Zane Boler (Lewisberry, Pa.), Gavin Chung (Glen Ridge, N.J.),  Koehl Comiskey (Dallas, Pa.), Michael Egan (Chatham, N.J.), Benedikt Guth (Madison, N.J.), Donatus Guth (Madison, N.J.), Jesse Ickes (Lewisberry, Pa.), Isahq Inayat (Princeton, N.J.), Luke Jackson (Brentwood, Tenn.), Colin Kirkpatrick (Annville, Pa.), Reuben Kruger (Winnetka, Ill.), Michael Malave (York, Pa.), Kiet Maloney (Pennington, N.J.), Toby Peck (Dowingtown, Pa.), James Polashock (Hainesport, N.J.), Mason Tortora (Pikesville, Md.), Jack Weitzman (Fulton, Md.)


Eight athletes on the Junior Indoor USMNT have been on the squad the past three years in Matthew Barraco, Zane Boler, Gavin Chung, Koehl Comiskey, Ishaq Inayat, Colin Kirkpatrick, Toby Peck and Jack Weitzman. They are joined by Michael Egan, Benedikt Guth and Donatus Guth who have been on the team the past two years.


"We are excited to finally announce the Senior Indoor Team for the 2021-2022 season,” added Mulder. “This group represents the start of a new and exciting time for the indoor program as we look to develop the program and select the team that will represent USA at the 2022 Indoor World Cup.”


James Albanese (Mercerville, N.J.), Brett Andrews (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Shomik Chakraborty (Washington, D.C.), Christian DeAngelis (Doylestown, Pa.), Ajai Dhadwal (Agoura Hills, Calif.), Mohan Gandhi (Ventura, Calif.), Seth Gort (East Stroudsburg, Pa.), Alex Grassi (Brookeville, Md.), Pat Harris (Moorpark, Calif.), Jack Heldens (Hamburg, Germany), Vincent Heller (Stuttgart, Germany), Colin Hennessy (Marlborough, Mass.), Deegan Huisman (Amsterdam, Netherlands), Aki Kaeppeler (New York, N.Y.), Kei Kaeppeler (Stuttgart, Germany), JaJa Kentwell (Spring City, Pa.), Jonathan Klages (Berlin, Germany), Kai Kokolakis (France), Jeandre Kruger (Winnetka, Ill.), Barry Merriman (Washington, D.C), Izaak Pels (Spring City, Pa.), Nicholas Richardson (Sunapee, N.H.), Moritz Ruenzi (Muechen, Germany), Robert Schilling (Hertford, United Kingdom), Kevin Segeren (The Hague, Netherlands), Asdeep Singh (Baltimore, Md.), Ethan Skeete (Arlington, Va.)


A total of 11 athletes selected to the Senior Indoor USMNT were on last year’s roster and 13 athletes selected are currently involved in the senior outdoor program. Leading the 2021-22 squad is Patrick Harris who has competed in five Indoor Pan American Cups, including the very first edition in 2002.


The coaching staff will invite a select number of athletes from the Senior Indoor USMNT to the Indoor World Cup Selection Camp that will take place from the December 29 to January 2 in Pottstown Pa. For those that miss the Indoor World Cup Selection Camp, they'll rejoin the group to prepare for a few domestic camps and competitions.


“I'm personally excited that we are at this point as we increase our talent pool,” added Mulder. “This moment represents growth in a very challenging time for sports around the world. I'd like to thank the staff and the players for their efforts and more importantly their sacrifices."


The 2022 FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup is set to take place February 2 to 6 in Liège, Belgium.