WC Eagles Take 2022 U-16 Girls NCC Title

by USA Field Hockey


100 photos

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. – Another sixteen club teams battled it out on the fields at the Virginia Beach Regional Training Center in Virginia Beach, Va. in the 2022 U-16 Girls National Club Championship (NCC), presented by YOLO Sportswear. The three days of competition concluded today to see which club would be named the 2022 champions.

The bronze medal game was an exciting match up between Spirit of USA and Windy City, that was eventually decided in a shootout. Scoreless through the first quarter, Spirit of USA got on the board in the 29th minute when Mary Wordelmann (Mickleton, N.J) tipped in a backhand shot. Windy City found the equalizer with 45 seconds left in the game when Reese Anetsberger (Northbrook, Ill.) got it around the goalkeeper. In the first round of the shootout, Windy City's Isabel Morgan (Winnetka, Ill.) converted while goalkeeper Eleanor Larsen (Lake Bluff, Ill.) made the stick clear. Next, Spirit of USA goalkeeper Emily Nicholls (Haddon Heights, N.J.) also swiped it away before Isabella Moore (Southampton, N.J.) scored to even it 1-1. No one scored in the third round and Windy City's Beatrice Ottsen (Kenilworth, Ill.) scored in the fourth. The fifth round saw both goalkeepers come up and make stops as Windy City won 2-1.


The gold medal match between WC Eagles and AGH was a tense battle. AGH took the lead 5 minutes into the game when Ashley Stockdale (Darien, Conn.) swept it high into the net. WC Eagles equalized in the 23rd minute when Reese D'Ariano (West Chester, Pa.) put it into the bottom corner. Three minutes later, WC Eagles took the lead off a penalty corner give and go that D'Ariano finished. WC Eagles extended the lead in the 39th minute when Lily Wojcik (New Freedom, Pa.) scored on a rebound and 47th minute when Sienna Golden (Berwyn, Pa.) tucked it under the goalkeeper. AGH added one back when A. Stockdale deflected it in off a penalty corner to make it 4-2. WC Eagles added one more with a minute left in the game when Riley Savage (Charlotte, N.C.) made the final 5-2, for their 7th consecutive title.


USA Field Hockey would like to congratulate all of this year's U-16 National Club Championship teams, athletes and coaches who participated! As well as thank the umpires, technical staff, umpire managers and volunteers who continue to make NCC a success. 


Head Coach: Jun Kentwell

In Alphabetical Order: Olivia Anderson, Sarah Bednarek, Kylie Briggs, Kaiya Chepow, Reese D'Ariano, Rylee Dennis, Sofia Ferri, Abigail Gerdeman, Sienna Golden, Grace Hunter, Ava Jones, Autumn Kernechel, Natane King, Hannah Maney, Sabrina McGroarty, Saylor Milone, Olivai Morraye, Darby Reyburn, Riley Savage, Opal Sparling, Callen Todd, Aubrey Turner, Melea Weber, Lilly Wojcik


Head Coach: Alexandru Gheorghe

In Alphabetical Order: Grace Almeida, Caroline Babb, Kathryn Bock, Gianna Caldero, Lavinia Cartellieri, Sofia Fidalgo Schioppa, Eva Filipponi, Ellie Goldstein, Addison Infante, Kelly Jansen, Leah Larit, Emma Marvin, Charlotte Nemec, Tyla Ozgen, Ashley Stockdale, Victoria Stockdale, Charlotte Strange, Stella Thibeault, Blake Wilks


Head Coach: Mark Morgan

In Alphabetical Order: Reese Anetsberger, Hannah Balmelli, Ella Beach, Reagan Brown, Lilly Cimaroli, Gemma Franco, Maxine Hekster, Maisie Henshaw, Allison Hieb, Eleanor Larsen, Isabel Morgan, Caitlin O'Shea, Beatrice Ottsen, Carly Pufpaf, Lucy Segal, Julia Soriano, Scout Storms, Riley Zenkewicz


All photographs appearing on this site are property of USA Field Hockey/Dan Trevino. They are protected by U.S. Copyright Laws, and are not to be downloaded, reproduced or used in any way without the written permission of USA Field Hockey/Dan Trevino.


If you are college club coach, high school coach, sponsor or media outlet, email