2022-23 Junior & Senior U.S. Men’s National Indoor Teams Named

by USA Field Hockey

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -  Following an in-person tryout on October 22 and virtual/online submissions due to travel restrictions, the 2022-23 Junior and Senior U.S. Men’s National Indoor Teams have been named.


“Congratulations to all athletes, both senior and junior,” said Jason Mulder, Senior Indoor USMNT Head Coach. “This years’ squad selections were hard. It’s clear that players have put in the work to improve their indoor game and it’s starting to show in the combinations we have to consider. This is great to see and is somewhat a champagne problem. It’s also the result of a great junior program.”


“We will look to keep building on the momentum we created at the end of last season at the CanAm Indoor Series. Our focus is to be competitive at every event we attend this season.”


Ian Ailes (Havertown, Pa.),  Alex Beauduin (Princeton, N.J.), Zane Boler (Lewisberry, Pa.), Zack Canady (Suffolk, Va.), Gavin Chung (Glen Ridge, N.J.),  Koehl Comiskey (Dallas, Pa.), Michael Egan (Chatham, N.J.), Benedikt Guth (Madison, N.J.), Donatus Guth (Madison, N.J.), Jesse Ickes (Lewisberry, Pa.), Isahq Inayat (Princeton, N.J.), Tyler Kim (Arlington, Va.), Colin Kirkpatrick (Annville, Pa.), Eoin Merriman (Washington, D.C.), James Polashock (Hainesport, N.J.), Neo Schlueter (Franklin, Tenn.), Eknaam Singh (Los Gatos, Calif.), Mason Tortora (Pikesville, Md.), Jack Weitzman (Fulton, Md.), Charles Zarrow (West Roxbury, Mass.)

Fourteen athletes on the Junior Indoor USMNT were named to the squad last year and nine total are involved are currently involved in the junior outdoor program.


James Albanese (Mercerville, N.J.), Brett Andrews (Pittsburg, Pa.), Michael Barminski (Ventura, Calif.), Gavin Chung (Glen Ridge, N.J.), Koehl Comiskey (Dallas, Pa.), Christian DeAngelis (Doylestown, Pa.), Ajai Dhadwal (Agoura Hills, Calif.), Mohan Gandhi (Ventura, Calif.), Alex Grassi (Brookeville, Md.), Pat Harris (Moorpark, Calif.), Jack Heldens (Hamburg, Germany), Vincent Heller (Stuttgart, Germany), Colin Hennessy (Marlborough, Mass.), Aki Kaeppeler (New York, N.Y.), Kei Kaeppeler (Stuttgart, Germany), JaJa Kentwell (Spring City, Pa.), Stuart Kentwell (Spring City, Pa.), Colin Kirkpatrick (Annville, Pa.), Tyler Kim (Arlington, Va.), Jonathan Klages (Berlin, Germany), Kai Kokolakis (Melbourne, Fla.), Marius Leser (Mannheim, Germany), Barry Merriman (Washington, D.C.), Izaak Pels (Spring City, Pa.), Christopher Pothier (Shrewsbury, Mass.), Nick Richardson (Sunapee, N.H.), Dean Schiller (Alexandria, Va.), Robert Schilling (Hertford, United Kingdom), Kevin Segeren (The Hague, Netherlands), Damien Tarala (Norwalk, Conn.), Michael Young (Sidney, N.Y.)

Of the 31-athlete squad, 21 athletes selected to the Senior Indoor USMNT were on last year’s roster, three made the transition from the junior team and 16 athletes are currently involved in the senior outdoor program. Leading the 2022-23 squad is Pat Harris (Moorpark, Calif.) who has 50 international caps and has competed in five Indoor Pan American Cups, including the very first edition in 2002. Michael Barminski (Ventura, Calif.) rejoins the team after last being named in 2014 and Christopher Pothier (Shrewsbury, Mass.) is back after a two-year hiatus.


The Senior Indoor USMNT has a busy end to the year and start of 2023. They will come together December 7 to 9 in Charlotte, N.C. for a Selection Camp for the Rohrmax Cup, which is set for January 5 to 9 in Vienna, Austria. They will then travel to Pretoria, South Africa to compete in the rescheduled 2023 FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup from February 5 to 11. Both squads will participate at the National Indoor Tournament from February 24 to 26 in Richmond, Va. and CanCam Indoor Series from March 18 to 19 in Toronto, Canada.