Everything You Need to Know About the 2023 FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup

by USA Field Hockey

PRETORIA, South Africa - In five days, 12 men's and 12 women's nations will gather at the Heartfelt Arena in Pretoria, South Africa for the 2023 FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup (IHWC). After being postponed in 2022, this seven-day event will run from February 5 to 11.


Ahead of competition, below is everything you need to know about the 2023 IWHC.


The FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup is an international indoor field hockey competition for men and women organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH), where participating teams had to qualify through their continental championship.

The tournament started in 2003 for both the men and women and was hosted in Leipzig, Germany.

In the men's competition, Germany (2003, 2007, 2011) has won three editions, with The Netherlands (2015) and Austria (2018) each winning one. On the women's side, Germany (2003, 2011, 2018) has won three and The Netherlands (2007, 2015) has won twice.

View the 2023 IHWC rosters.


The 12-team men’s tournament includes many within the top-20 of the FIH Indoor World Rankings. No. 18 USA sits in Pool B with No. 3 Iran, No. 5 Czech Republic, No. 10 Australia, No. 11 South Africa and No. 19 Argentina. Pool A consists of No. 1 Austria, No. 7 Netherlands, No. 8 Belgium, No. 13 Kazakhstan, No. 16 Namibia and New Zealand.

The 12-team women’s tournament includes many within the top-20 of the FIH Indoor World Rankings. No. 12 USA sits in Pool A with No. 2 Netherlands, No. 8 Austria, No. 9 Australia, No. 14 South Africa and New Zealand. Pool B consists of No. 4 Ukraine, No. 5 Czech Republic, No. 9 Namibia, No. 11 Kazakhstan, No. 15 Belgium and No. 16 Canada.

View the full 2023 IHWC schedule.

Sun., Feb. 53:50 AMWomen AAustraliavsUSA
 7:30 AMMen BCzech RepublicvsUSA
Mon., Feb. 69:40 AMWomen AAustriavsUSA
 10:50 AMMen BIranvsUSA
Tues., Feb. 72:40 AMWomen AUSAvsSouth Africa
 5:00 AMMen BSouth AfricavsUSA
Wed., Feb. 89:40 AMMen BUSAvsArgentina
 10:50 AMWomen AUSAvsNew Zealand
Thurs., Feb. 91:30 AMWomen ANetherlandsvsUSA
 5:00 AMMen BUSAvsAustralia

*All times are Eastern Time Zone

The Quarterfinals will start on Friday, February 10 with the Semifinals and Finals on Saturday, February 11.

The last time the indoor men’s program attended an IHWC was back in 2011 when it was in Poznan, Poland. Prior to that, they competed in 2003 when it was hosted in Leipzig, Germany. In both editions, USA finished 11th and they will look to up their final placement come February.

The indoor women's program earned their first-ever bid to the IHWC in 2018. The event took place in Berlin, Germany and USA finished 10th.

The 2023 IHWC will be live streamed on Watch.Hockey, pay-per-view. It is $4.20, including fees, for the Tournament Pass that includes unlimited, exclusive access to all live matches, replays, interviews, highlights and scores. This is full access on a phone, tablet or desktop and can be watched on two devices at the same time.

For more information regarding the 2023 FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup, visit the event page