World Sport Pics


Kentwell Announces Women’s 2024 Indoor Pan American Cup Roster

CALGARY, Canada. – U.S. Women’s National Indoor Team Head Coach Jun Kentwell and her coaching staff have named the 12-athlete roster that will compete at the women’s Indoor Pan American Cup (IPAC). The 2024 edition will take place at the Sevens Chiefs Sportsplex in Calgary, Alberta, Canada from March 17 to 22 and is the continental qualifier for women’s FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup.

“I have selected a talented squad of players, many of whom have represented the USA at a previous Indoor Pan American Cup or Indoor World Cup in the past few years,” said Kentwell. “Unfortunately, due to a congested calendar, I have not been able to bring the team together to prepare for this qualifying event. We will have a couple of short training sessions in Calgary prior to the tournament starting to work on specific important tactical aspects. Any of the four teams have a strong possibility of winning this event and qualifying for the Indoor World Cup, with Argentina, Canada and Uruguay reportedly spending a lot of time preparing. I know our young women will work hard and hope to qualify again for the Indoor World Cup.”

At the last IPAC, which took place in 2021 in Spring City, Pa., the women finished first and directly punched their ticket to the Indoor World Cup. Returning from that roster are Ryleigh Heck (Ocean City, N.J.) and Hope Rose (Dauphin, Pa.), who also was the Top Scorer of the Tournament. Another five were part of the group that finished in ninth at the 2023 FIH Hockey Indoor Women’s World Cup South Africa. They are Abigail Burnet (Zionsville, Pa.), Reese D’Ariano (West Chester, Pa.), Sarah Johnson (Lincoln University, Pa.), Opal Sparling (Chester Springs, Pa.) and goalkeeper Elizabeth Tamburro (Phoenixville, Pa.), with reserves Sabrina McGroarty (Mickleton, N.J.) and Melea Weber (Macungie, Pa.) getting a chance to represent.

Abigail Burnett (Zionsville, Pa.), Cecily Charles (Millersville, Pa.), Reese D’Ariano (West Chester, Pa.), Sofia Ferri (Phoenixville, Pa.), Abigail Gerdeman (Chester Springs, Pa.), Ryleigh Heck (Ocean City, N.J.), Sarah Johnson (Lincoln University, Pa.), Sabrina McGroarty (Mickleton, N.J.), Hope Rose (Dauphin, Pa.), Opal Sparling (Chester Springs, Pa.), Elizabeth Tamburro (Phoenixville, Pa.), Melea Weber (Macungie, Pa.). 

The traveling reserve is Riley Savage (Charlotte, N.C.).

Kentwell will lead the squad and be supported by team manager Sam Carlino and physiotherapist Aaron Finer.

Tues.,, March 19

12:00 PM

USA vs. Argentina

Wed., March 20

5:00 PM

Canada vs. USA

Thurs., March 21

2:30 PM

USA vs. Uruguay

All times in Eastern Time Zone

The format is round robin with the crossovers and finals taking place on Friday, March 22. From the women’s IPAC, the team that comes in first advances to the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup.

For more information regarding 2024 Indoor Pan American Cups, visit the event page.