2016 National Futures Championship Comes to an End with U-19 Division

by USA Field Hockey

LANCASTER, Pa. - June 30, 2016 - The 2016 National Futures Championship (NFC) came to an end yesterday with the U-19 age division wrapping up at Spooky Nook Sports in Lancaster County, Pa. The Citi NFC, presented by Harrow Sports, 9-day tournament drew 680 athletes to the fields to showcase their skills in front of top collegiate coaches and selectors. The competitive fire was strong as invitations to Junior National Camp and AAU Junior Olympics were up for grabs.

USA Field Hockey would like to thank and congratulate all athletes who participated in the NFC. An extended thank you goes to all coaches and umpires who helped make the event possible.  

Congratulations to the following U-19 NFC medalists:


 Sochi (Region 8)

Head Coach: Mark Egner
Not in Order: Eleanor Winants, Mackenzie Karl, Ashley Dykema, Greer Gill, Colleen Norair, Annie Snead, Christie Van De Kamp, Halle Gill, Cassidy Goodwin, Kathryn Holland, Miya Denison, Margaret New, Cameron Rogers, Lakin Barry, Aubrey Scott King, Cassidy Atchison, Emily Deuell, Annie Miller, Callie Rennyson, Grace Brightbill

SECOND PLACE: Athens (Region 5)

Head Coach: Stacey Bean
Not in Order: Kelsey Farkas, Cadera Smith, Mya Christopher, Hannah Ackers, Meredith Sholder, Kelee Lepage, Madalyn Hosler, Cassie Sumfest, Alexis Horst, Bryn Boylan, Caroline McGovern, Makayla Gallen, Alicia Cooperman, Jordan Olenginski, Kendra Sykes, Taylor Alba, Meredith Ross, Brianna O'Donnell, Katie Jean, Shelby Querry

THIRD PLACE: Amsterdam (Region 6)

Head Coach: Meredith Civico
Not in Order: Elizabeth Romano, Madison Morano, Jessica Welch, Julie Herrington, Mackenzie Keegan, Lia Sinisi, Chandler McFeeley, Alexis Pettisani, Alanna Gollotto, Krista Hoffman, Drew Pecora, Kristiina Castagnola, Hana Charnley, Jessica Pianko, Nicole Freeman, Elizabeth Cimilluca, Sarah Dimock, Erin Quinn, Hailey Abbott, Gianna Glatz

In addition, congratulations to Sochi on winning the Barbara Longstreth Award for Sportsmanship. This award was created to promote good sportsmanship and given to the team that best exemplifies the qualifies of fair play, graciousness in victory and defeat, and respect for opponents and officials. This award is selected by the USA Field Hockey National Futures Championship Umpire and Coaching Staff. #NFC2016

Read more about Barbara Longstreth by clicking here