Paris 2024: China, Pakistan & Spain to Host FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers

by USA Field Hockey

Content Courtesy of FIH

LAUSANNE, Switzerland - As confirmed by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) today, China, Pakistan and Spain will host the FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers taking place from January 13 to 21, 2024 as follows: 

  • Women: Changzhou, China (one tournament) and Valencia, Spain (one tournament) 
  • Men: Lahore, Pakistan (one tournament) and Valencia, Spain (one tournament)

Each tournament will consist of 8 teams (16 teams per gender in total), with following continental quotas in place:

Women’s FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers

Africa: 0

Asia: 4

Europe: 8

Oceania: 1

Pan America: 3

Men’s FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers

Africa: 1

Asia: 5

Europe: 7

Oceania: 1

Pan America: 2

The teams filling each quota, and therefore invited to participate, will be based on their performance at the Continental Championships taking place in 2023. 

The top 3 teams in each of these FIH Hockey Olympic Qualification Tournaments will qualify for Paris 2024. They will join hosts France as well as the winners of each Continental Championship (African Hockey Road to Paris, Pan American Games, Asian Games, EuroHockey Championship and Oceania Cup).

As has been the case since Beijing 2008, 12 teams per gender will play at the Paris 2024 Olympic hockey tournaments, with each squad consisting of 16 athletes.

USAFH logo

About Us

  • About USA Field Hockey
  • Hall of Fame
Field Hockey and USOPC Logo
  • Accessibility
  • Careers
  • Contact Us
  • Donate
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

© 2023 Copyright USA Field Hockey - All Rights Reserved.