High School

    High school field hockey is the largest field hockey league in the country with approximately 60,000 players participating each fall season.

    High school sports, including field hockey, are governed by the National Federation of State High School Association (NFHS). The NFHS is responsible for establishing rules of play that best support student-athlete education.  USA Field Hockey and the NFHS partner to support and grow field hockey to create more opportunities for student-athlete participation and development.

    Field hockey is played by high schools in about half of the United States. It is a sanctioned sport in most states, and an emerging sport in others. If you would like information about starting a high school team or league, please reach out to sportdevelopment@usafieldhockey.com.

    2023 High School Field Hockey State Champions

    • California

      CIF Northern Section: Chico High School

      CIF Open Division: Torrey Pines High School

      CIF Division I University City

      CIF Division II: Clairemont High School

      CIF Cenral Coast Section: Los Gatos High School


      CHSAA: Colorado Academy


      CIAC Class L: Staples High School

      CIAC Class M: Daniel Hand High School

      CIAC Class S: North Bradford High School


      DIAA Division I: Cape Henlopen High School

      DIAA Division II: Delmar High School


      IHSAFH: Glenbrook South High School


      KHSAA: Christian Academy-Louisville


      MPA Class A: Cheverus

      MPA Class B: Freeport

      MPA Class C: Winthrop High School


      MPSSAA Class 1A: South Carroll High School

      MPSSAA Class 2A: Glenelg High School

      MPSAA Class 3A: Mount Hebron High School

      MPSAA Class 4A: Crofton High School

      IAAM A Conference: Garrison Forest School

      IAAM B Conference: St. Mary's School

      IAAM C Conference: Park School

      WCAC: St. John's College High School

    • Massachusetts

      MIAA Division 1: Walpole High School

      MIAA Division 2: Reading High School

      MIAA Division 3: Watertown High School

      MIAA Division 4: Uxbridge High School


      Division I: Pioneer High School

      Division II: Dexter High School


      State Tournament: John Burroughs School

      New England Preparatory

      NEPSAFH Class A: Taft School

      NEPSAFH Class B: Middlesex School

      NEPSAFH Class C: Pingree School

      New Hampshire

      NHIAA Division I: Dover High School

      NHIAA Division II: John Stark Regional High School

      NHIAA Division III: Gilford High School

      New Jersey

      NJSIAA Group 1: West Deptford High School

      NJSIAA Group 2: West Essex Regional High School

      NJSIAA Group 3: Clearview High School

      NJSIAA Group 4: Kingsway High School

      NJSIAA Non-Public: Camden Catholic High School

      New York

      NYSPHSAA Class A: Mamaroneck High School

      NYSPHSAA Class B: Vestal High School

      NYSPHSAA Class C: Whitney Point High School

      North Carolina

      NCISAA: Charlotte Country Day School

      NCFHA: Cardinal Gibbens

    • Ohio

      OHSAA: Thomas Worthington High School


      PIAA 1A: Oley Valley High School

      PIAA 2A: Villa Maria Academy

      PIAA 3A: Emmaus High School

      PAISAA: Academy of Notre Dame

      Rhode Island

      RIIL Division I: North Kingston High School

      RIIL Division II: Lincoln High School

      RIIL Division: East Greenwich


      SPC 3A: Trinity Valley High School

      SPC 4A: St. John's School

      TAPPS 6A: St. Agnes Academy


      VPA Division I: South Burlington High School

      VPA Division II: Hartford High School

      VPA Division III: Montpelier High School


      VISAA Division I: North Folk Academy

      VISAA Division II: Fredericksburg Academy

      VHSL Class 3: Tabb High School

      VHSL Class 4: Loudoun Valley High School

      VHSL Class 5: Independence High School

      VHSL Class 6: Yorktown High School


      WHSFHA: Arrowhead High School

    USAFH logo

    About Us

    • About USA Field Hockey
    • Hall of Fame
    Field Hockey and USOPC Logo
    • Accessibility
    • Careers
    • Contact Us
    • Donate
    • Site Map
    • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
    • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
    • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

    © 2024 Copyright USA Field Hockey - All Rights Reserved.