Hall of Fame Selection

    USA Field Hockey
    • Hall of Fame Selection

      The USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame is designed to honor players, coaches, umpires and administrators who have enhanced the sport of field hockey through exceptional achievements.

      The criteria for selection into the USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame is based on achievement, innovation and contributions to the sport. To be considered, an individual must have been a member of the U.S. National Team for a minimum of five years; and must have been out of competition at the national level for five years. Objective point system takes into account each year a candidate played for, coached or captained the U.S. National Team, Olympic Team, an international tournament or a squad representing the United States on an international tour.

    • Hall of Fame Committee

      Rene Zelkin

      Missy Meharg

      Katelyn Ginolfi

      Becca Main Kohli

      Jarred Martin

      Jeanne O'Brien

      Nigel Traverso

    • Nominations, together with supporting documentation of involvement in field hockey, may be logged with the USA Field Hockey Recognition and Awards Committee at any time
    • The Recognition and Awards Committee shall make all proposed Hall of Fame members to the Executive Committee
    • A nominee, having twice failed to be endorsed by recognition and awards committee, may not be resubmitted within three years
    • Endorsement of a recommendation shall require two-thirds vote by both the Recognition and Awards Committee and the Executive Committee
    • The recipient of any previous USA Field Hockey award or honor shall not be precluded for nomination for the Hall of Fame
    • A maximum of five (5) recipients shall be added annually
    Athlete Criteria
    • The individual must have influenced other competitors with his or her performance through any or all of the following: high performance standards, sportsmanship, fair play, competitive techniques and/or persistent and inspirational leadership
    • Player must have been a member of the U.S. Men's or Women's National Team for a minimum of five (5) years
    • Player must have been out of competition at the national level for five years
    • Nominee must be a member of USA Field hockey and accrue enough points under the following systems
    Member of U.S. National Team between 1922-1973 (Minimum of 21 points to qualify)
    • 2 points for United States first team as player
    • 2 points for member IFWHA conference team
    • 1 point for member United States Reserve team
    • 1 point for touring team as player or coach
    • 1 point for Captain of a touring team
    Member of U.S. National Team between 1974-1979 (Same as above with following exceptions)
    • 1 point for member “A” or “elite” squad
    • 2 points for Wembley team (considered United States first team)
    • 1 point for Trinidad touring team (considered United States Reserve team)
    Member of U.S. National Team from 1980- present (Minimum 16 points to qualify)
    • 4 points for an Olympic Team member as a player
    • 4 points for member of World Cup team as a player
    • 1 point for captain of Olympic or World Cup team
    • 3 points for member of Pan-American Games as a player
    • 1 point for United States squad membership
    • 1 point for every 25 caps
    • 1 point for a Champions Challenge, Champions Trophy or a World League Event

    USAFH logo

    About Us

    • About USA Field Hockey
    • Hall of Fame
    Field Hockey and USOPC Logo
    • Accessibility
    • Careers
    • Contact Us
    • Donate
    • Site Map
    • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
    • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
    • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

    © 2023 Copyright USA Field Hockey - All Rights Reserved.